Categories
Creativity

14 Fun Facts about Random Acts of Writing

In celebration of my blog’s 14th Anniversary, I offer you these 14 Fun Facts about Random Acts of Writing…

1. Random Acts of Writing is followed by more than 1,700 people around the world, including my high school English teacher who reminded me, early on, that it was important to keep my writing universal so more people could understand and appreciate it.

2. In total, there have been close to 37,000 visits to Random Acts of Writing and more than 110,000 distinct views since 2010.

3. According to WordPress, most folks like to read the blog on Mondays at 11:00 a.m. That’s…random.

4. My most popular post ever is “Something More Important Than Fear,” which was featured on WordPress’ home page and garnered 2,000 views. My most popular post in the past year was “Road Trip Big Bend: Big Bend National Park.” Both, ironically, about Texas.

5. Travel is often featured here on Random Acts of Writing, with frequent posts about Texas, France, Cape Cod, day trips, and the awesomeness that is the American Road Trip.

6. Alice in Wonderland makes regular visits to this blog, as do Henry David Thoreau, Emily Dickinson, and my Dad. But it was Gene Kelly who starred in the opening number back in 2010.

7. As a graphic designer as well as a writer, I know the importance of images. That’s why there have been more than 3,000 images posted, including famous and obscure artwork and original photography.

8. Random Acts of Writing is a fifth generation creative effort that has its roots in the 1980s zine culture. The Latest News was its first incarnation, which I published from 1989 – 1996.

9. It turns out, I am an internet research geek. Many of the posts you read are infused with details from Google Books, Wiki Art, the Library of Congress, Wikipedia, Bible Hub, and Quote Investigator. I once spent four totally nerdy hours on Google Patents and had to stop because my mouse hand cramped up.

10. The intention of Random Acts of Writing has shape-shifted over the years, but its most-talked-about topics include creativity, books, nature, spirituality, and poetry.

11. Every April since 2015, I have attempted to write a poem a day for National Poetry Month. You can see all of the results here.

12. All of that writing — more than 2,000 posts — led to the publication of four books: LOOK UP! Musings on the Nature of Mindfulness, Evidence of Flossing: What We Leave Behind, Waiting Out the Storm, and Water Under the Bridge: A Sort of Love Story.

13. All of that writing has also fed my quarterly publication called MANIFEST (zine) and my new book, Sleeping with Ghosts, coming out this fall!

14. This is the 14th time I have written an anniversary post, each of which has ended with gratitude to YOU, my readers, for your Comments, your Likes, and your support since 2010. It has been a blessing to share this journey and this ongoing conversation with you.

Love, Jen

2 replies on “14 Fun Facts about Random Acts of Writing”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.