as she behaves, so will she be

I’ll be honest,
as I saved the spider
from sure destruction
and placed him gently
on the morning sill,
I wondered
if perhaps I’d earned
a bit of karma,
if maybe the gesture
would spare me
the sure destruction
of betrayals —
disappointments.
But everyday humans
don’t bide by karma,
never mind what gurus say,
so the spider went about his,
and I my business for the day
knowing this:
salvation, like love, is random.

Poem ©2017, Jen Payne. IMAGE: A bird perched on a tree branch with blossoms, watching a spider on a web,  Katsushika Hokusai, Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C.

2 thoughts on “as she behaves, so will she be

Leave a Reply

