Like a Chapter in a Book

“Goals give us direction. They put a powerful force into play on a universal, conscious, and subconscious level. Goals give our life direction.” – Melody Beattie

I’m looking over my 2016 goals. You know, the ones that included the 50 things I would do in my 50th year? The list of resolutions long forgot? The good intentions set forth?

The success or failure of all of that reminds me of the Road Trip I took this fall. A grand plan some four years in the making that included maps, lists, and a very detailed itinerary. Did we see everything? No. Did we get to every item on the map? No. Did it matter? NO! Because in between the itemized, there were some glorious surprises, some sweet happenstances, and some uncharted moments I would never alter. Not even for a few more red checks next to my scrupulous lists.

Will I make more lists for 2017? YES!

Why? Because despite the lack of particular checkmarks, in 2016 I took a 3700-mile road trip I’ve dreamed about all my life! I also visited the Guggenheim Museum and saw a Red Sox game in Boston. I bought a new camera, wrote a poem a day for National Poetry Month, and got my writing published. I cooked Ina Garten’s 4-hour lamb, recited Jabberwocky from memory to a live audience, and baked a chocolate cake from scratch. I read 39 books, found a pearl in an oyster, and made time for love and friendship, writing and reading every week from the start.

“The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written,” writes Melody Beattie in The Language of Letting Go. “We can help write that story by setting goals.”

So, what is your story for 2017?

books16

©2016, Jen Payne. Photo at Inspiration Point, Yellowstone National Park.

4 thoughts on “Like a Chapter in a Book

  1. What others read always fascinates me. Just looked at another blogger friend/author’s list, only a couple would interest me probably. Nevertheless, it is good to expand one’s mind. Happy New Year.

    1. I tend to follow trails – a recommended read here, a you might like there. Sometimes, I’m reading clients’ books or a friend’s…which leads me own other paths all together! It IS fascinating – that is very true!

Leave a Reply

