Folies-Bergère: A Different Perspective

I get much less attention
than Suzon, that hussy.
Oh, she may act demure,
try to pull off that look of ennui,
but get a load at that corsage
and all its buxom blossoms.
She couldn’t pull that corset
tighter if she tried, and you bet she did.
How about that jewelry? What a show off!
Just for him, no doubt.
Tonight of all nights.
These new green slippers!
I thought he’d finally notice me…
What a farce! What a folly!

Poem ©2016, Jen Payne, National Poetry Month, 26, an ekphrastic poem based on A Bar at the Folies-Bergère by Édouard Manet.

2 thoughts on “Folies-Bergère: A Different Perspective

  1. Fantastic poem! I love this painting. For such a long time it never really appealed to me until I had to teach Art History. Now it is among my favorite as it always yields something new with each viewing.

Leave a Reply

