We are all a star

In this lifetime,
I have seen just a handful
of shooting stars.
One across a West Texas
sky that was so brilliant
I thought the ground would shake.
Its trail of blue and green
wound around my soul,
shocked my heart’s rhythm,
called forth dark, primal
vibration like LIFE!
and all its grand stardust.

I have seen just a handful
of shooting stars
the effervescence of which
caused time to stop,
night skies to light up

and once those skies were purple.

Poem, in memory of Prince, ©2016, Jen Payne, National Poetry Month, 22. Photo: Comet Hyakutake from Dunkirk, Maryland, 
©1996 Photo by Fred Espenak. Poem title from Prince song, Baby I’m a Star.

One thought on “We are all a star

Leave a Reply

