It’s Time to Look Up!

LookUp-cc

I wish I remembered the first moment nature and I linked arms for good. Made eye contact and realized Yes, this is it! But the relationships that mean the most are rarely that simple, rarely that spontaneous. More often, they develop over time, allowing you to get to know each other slowly and thoughtfully.

If you’ve been reading Random Acts of Writing for a while, you’ve witnessed that gradual unfolding as it’s happened for me over the past several years. From the beginning Junior Explorer days of identifying plants and creatures by their Latin names, to the first tentative attempts to connect the act of walking with meditation and something greater; from looking to others to explain what I was seeing, to letting my own writing narrate the experience instead.

I am, therefore, so excited to share with you — most especially you — the launch of my new book: LOOK UP! Musings on the Nature of Mindfulness. Within its pages you’ll find familiar essays and poems from Random Acts of Writing, 100 original, full-color photographs, and a sprinkling of quotations from some of my favorite philosophers, poets, naturalists, and writers.

It has been a pleasure to share this journey with all of you. Thank you for your support, your enthusiasm, and your friendship!

ON SALE NOW!
Copies of LOOK UP! are on sale now at lookupthebook.com.


16 thoughts on “It’s Time to Look Up!

  1. Done! Yay! Can’t wait! Good luck with the sales. Oh and the love affair with nature, how could you not. It reminds me of a couple discussing when they first met. And one of them eventually asks, “When did you first know you were in love with me?” Is there an response that’s valid. I don’t think anyone can answer that age old question. It’s an accumulation of moments, endearments, shared smiles, and warm embraces that feel better and better until something inside of you says happy, comfortable, flawed, but beautiful.
    Love is love. Go figure. :-)

    1. I GOT IT! I LOVE IT! The Preface is a teaser. It makes me want to keep on going for sure. And it makes me want to walk. :-)
      Page 105 (no I haven’t gotten there yet. I’m a slow reader and just got your book last night.) is titled Every Tree Is Full Of Angels. No author. You? The page contains just one line, but it’s magical. ;-)
      Thank you. And good luck again. Dang!

    2. Oh yay! I’m so glad it got there so quickly! Yes, page 105 is my line – did you see the angel in the tree?!? Love that photo! Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy! (and then go walk!) xoxo

Leave a Reply

