Finding My Way Back

finally walking

After weeks of too cold too snowy too icy, a sunny, blue-sky 45-degree moment arrived yesterday. I wasted no time and went to the woods.

So did the 4,335 thoughts I’ve been carrying around with me since December.

The lot of us followed a well-trod path through the forest on a slow, not-so-quiet, walk around the pond.

“Will you just shut up,” I kept admonishing them, out loud, like a crazy woman muttering under her breath. (No wonder I’ve been feeling like The Shining’s Jack Torrance lately.)

By the end of the walk I almost recognized my self. I almost felt again like that beautiful zen creature who effortlessly finds quiet in the woods. Almost, but not quite.


Photo ©2014, Jen Payne


13 thoughts on “Finding My Way Back

  1. Sounds like a true case of a therapeutic walk in the woods. Reminds me of a quote by American naturalist John Burroughs: “I go to Nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in tune once more.” Glad you are back in tune!

  2. When I am pestered by cyclical thoughts that are diverting my mind down “what if” and dead end channels I find if I speak sternly (like an elementary teacher to a room of rowdy kids) and say “Stop it, STOP it, STOP IT!” I can break the chain.

Leave a Reply

