Instinctually

gutinstinct813

A phone call this week took me askew, suggesting I reconsider my direction. I was dizzy for a minute and kept walking.

A decision this week took me askew, suggesting I rethink the thinking I’d already thought. I was slowed but did not falter.

”When I go out of the house for a walk, uncertain as yet whither I will bend my steps,” Henry David Thoreau wrote, “…submit myself to my instinct to decide for me….”

• • •

Photo ©2013, Jen Payne

Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking,” The Portable Thoreau. New York: Penguin Books, 2012.

4 thoughts on “Instinctually

Leave a Reply

