Note to Self: Play More!

I like to think my life is pretty balanced. I work 8-10 hours a day. I get between 7-9 hours of sleep every night. I walk or do yoga just about every day. I find time to write, read, stay in touch with friends, house-keep, blog-keep.

It wasn’t until my friend MaryAnne got here that I realized what I’d been missing lately…time to play!

Thankfully, she arrived this past Saturday just in time to save me from myself — I don’t think I’d laughed all week. And then all of a sudden, I did! Lots!

We spontaneously found ourselves in New Haven Saturday afternoon for a late lunch, some shopping, a visit to the Edwardian Opulance exhibit at the Yale Center for Brisish Art, then a browse-and-wander through Atticus Bookshop. Food, shopping, art, books, girl talk? Could it get any better?

Sunday was a pajama day. We slept late, made breakfast, watched movies, visited with my sister and nephew, took a nap, had dinner. Not one finger lifted in the name of work, all day long!

Monday was one of those days you’d skip school if you could — blue sky, fifty-something degrees. So I worked until noon and we headed out! Lunch at a new local burger joint (yum!), a drive with the windows down, and a lazy, sunny stroll around the town beach.

We managed to make our way back to work this morning — me here at my desk, she back in Boston. But somehow, it all seems to be moving a lot easier and smoother now. That’s what you get for playing!

16 thoughts on “Note to Self: Play More!

  1. So glad you had such a fun, playful time! Laughing is so good for the soul. I sometimes forget to play as well. I think it’s partly because the things that I consider fun are not usually what others find fun. To me, fun is more about satisfaction, contentment and peace, rather than rowdy going and doing and partying.

    1. I totally agree. I have fun when I’m writing or walking in the woods or reading a book. Even emailing friends. But there’s a difference when there’s shared energy and conversation. I need a little more of that kind of fun!

  2. Oh, I’m envious! Except that’s a lot of what I did during my week with Beloved Friend Bets in her RV in northern Idaho… Aside from the fact it was mid-election-campaign last fall!
    We had fun being jointly snarky, if you know what I mean… And I’ll bet you do!

    XO,
    Gato

  3. Yes! Shared energy and conversations! Especially with girlfriends. My sisters and I have that kind of fun. We get crazy and a bit rowdy, and laugh til we pee our pants sometimes! It isn’t easy to find those we can be that way with. We should probably do it more often. :-)

Leave a Reply

