Read More: The Boxcar Children

readmoreboxcar313

The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children, #1)The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

FROM GOODREADS: Henry, Jessie, Violet and Benny, four orphaned brothers and sisters, suddenly appear in a small town. No one knows who these young wanderers are of where they have come from. Frightened to live with a grandfather they have never met, the children make a home for themselves in an abondoned red boxcar they discover in the woods. Henry, the oldest, goes to town to earn money and buy food and supplies. Ambitious and resourceful, the plucky children make a happy life for themselves – until Violet gets too sick for her brothers and sister to care for her.

MY REVIEW: While working on some new writing of my own, I remembered this favorite book from my childhood. I picked up an old copy and immediately found myself transported back in time. Back to when I used to play in the woods and pretend I was like the Alden children from the book – living in the forest, eating wild blueberries, making fun things from found objects. I suppose, in many ways, I do still “play” in the woods, and it was fun to catch a glimpse of my early inspirations to do so. I can’t wait to share this with my nephew when he is old enough to read!

View all my Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge Books.

10 thoughts on “Read More: The Boxcar Children

  1. LOVE The Boxcar Children. I too have fond memories of reading it, and my sister and I used to go outside and pretend that we were on our own and had to survive – inspired by the Alden children! I read these to my son when he was young, but he says he only vaguely remembers them. I wonder if I could get him to re-read them now, to refresh his memory and rekindle the love of that story so maybe he’ll pass it on someday……? I’m going to try! :-)

  2. I remember this series! My library only had the first few of them. When the trand of using shipping containers as housing units started I immediately thought of The Boxcar Children.

    1. I only ever read that very first one – I was surprised to see the series. And thank you for the mention of shipping containers as houses. I did a Google search on that last night – what fun!!

    2. The later books become too serialized, the early ones are the best. And yes, what reuse of something we recieve full and can’t ship back full.

Leave a Reply

