Read More: What Is Reading for?

whatisreadingfor213

What Is Reading For?What Is Reading For? by Robert Bringhurst

FROM GOODREADS: “Reading could have a rich and interesting future, because it does have a rich and interesting past. But if no one remembers that past, it may not mean much to the future.” This succinct and thoughtful essay is the text of a talk commissioned for a symposium entitled The Future of Reading which was held at RIT in June 2010. Written and designed by Robert Bringhurst, this limited edition is carefully crafted and letterpress printed. 450 copies, printed on Mohawk Ticonderoga paper.

MY REVIEW: A beautifully-crafted book with a beautiful message: books, reading, will always be with us, no matter what form. “Real reading and writing take place on the margins of empires,” Bringhurst writes. “That’s just how it is. You read the books, if you want to read them, however you can. And we do.” Layered with meaning and intent, not only in words but in its presentation, this treasure of a book, appeals to the fiber of who I am—reader, writer, designer, artist. If you are like-minded, you must have a copy of this book.

View all my Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge Books

10 thoughts on “Read More: What Is Reading for?

  1. That looks so interesting! I am reminded of a movie, the 1960 version of H.G. Wells’ “The Time Machine” with Rod Taylor as H.G. himself. Wells travels ahead thousands of years into the future world of the gentle (but stupid) Eloi and the sub-human (but also stupid) Morlocks. He is shocked to discover that all books have turned to dust and the only thing left are a few spinning, talking rings telling morality tales about the downfall of humankind. At the end, after going back to his own time, he returns to the future with three books from his own library. Since it’s impossible to know which books are missing, his closest friend muses: “Which books would you choose?” The End (???) I love what computers allow me to do – with fonts and images and colors (cut-and-paste was never this easy) – but I also just love books, especially the very old ones. On the flip side, printing fewer books might allow for the recovery of our forests. The paper book market is shrinking,as it tries to evolve into something new, but if we are ever plunged into a world without electronics, I hope some books will still be there, waiting.

    1. Amen! I am sad to think of the possibility that when my little nephew is my age, there may not be books. (And there may not be forests no matter the book industry – development is a hungry beast). I do think you would enjoy this book – it talks a lot about the future of books (and this history of book), and ends with where he sees it all going.

      What books would you choose? I would certainly bring Walden. The other two I would have to think on. You?

  2. I’m convinced I must read this book. I have a birthday this month, so a gift to me from me. Just placed the order. Thanks for the heads up on this one! Now I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

  3. Not yet, I guess.
    If you like Amy Tan (and you do) — I think her The Opposite of Fate is really special. Just read it for the third time. Not fiction, it’s about writing and the writing life.

Leave a Reply

