A Passing

This day.
This day
will surely go unnoticed.
It would by me

were it not for a small

thread of memory

that tip-toed across my thoughts
in the hours before dawn.

This day.

This day

will surely go unnoticed.

It is inconsequential
in the grand and complicated

and forgetful turnings
of this world

where you and I exist.

This day.
This day

will surely go unnoticed.
It arrived with no fanfare,
for there is no marking of the day
that left me wild and undone

and full of life again —
 except this.

• • •

©2011, Jen Payne

8 thoughts on “A Passing

  1. I saw something similar the other evening. It was absolutely beautiful. That’s not even a strong enough adjective, but having seen this, you understand. I couldn’t stop the car. Traffic. No where to stop. By the time I reached a place I could park, it was gone. I was so disappointed. (Obviously :-( )
    I’m so happy you got this shot off. Lovely.

    1. I know! I saw this sunrise and thought (gasp!) HOW BEAUTIFUL! I felt so blessed by it. And then I thought (gasp!) I have to go take some pictures! I ended up, at one point, lying on my back in the frost-covered grass to snap this upward and through the trees!

Leave a Reply

