The More Things Change, The More Things Change

I don’t know why I resist change so much.

That’s not true. I do know. But the explanation would take much longer than either of us has time for.

It’s much easier to say: I resist change.

A lot.

I hesitate, procrastinate, avoid, ignore, find work-arounds, pretend, stick my head in the sand, hide under covers, and otherwise kick and scream until…

…until change happens like it was going to in the first place and there I am on the other side.

It’s like my favorite book from when I was a kid, The Monster at the End of the Book. Grover, of Sesame Street fame, notices the title of the book and gets very scared.

“Did that say there’s a monster at the end of the book?” he asks the reader. “Oh, I am so scared of monsters!”

Then he proceeds to tape the pages together, tie them together and put up a brick wall, all the while pleading and kicking and screaming until…

…until he gets to the end of the book and realizes there was nothing to be afraid of afterall.

This is the lesson the Universe has been trying to teach me…well, probably since she put that book in my hands many, many moons ago.

Her recent attempt involved a retired WordPress template and an unintentional keystroke that erased any evidence of said template on this blog. I was going to have to redo the whole thing!

I went to bed last night with my familiar monsters — kicking and screaming about change.

But here we are, on the other side. And do you know what I remember…again?

I always love the other side of change!

 

Welcome to the new look of Random Acts of Writing, and the first of many changes we’re going to try to welcome in as the year unfolds.

•  •  •

©2013, Jen Payne.

If you are not familiar with The Monster at the End of the Book, please oh please click here: http://smollin.com/michael/tmonstr/mon001.html

16 thoughts on “The More Things Change, The More Things Change

  1. Hi, Jen… You’re my blogging guru. Did you know that? And I’m so excited to see that you’re now following mine. I still have lots to learn… And at least I’ve taken these first few steps. Interestingly enough, the Eulogy post has elicited the most comments, so far.

    I was just supposed to draw pictures, wasn’t I?

    Best to you,

    Gato/Carol… Or is it Carol/Gato?

    1. Hello Gato! A Blogging Guru? What fun!

      As an artist and writer extraordinaire, I think you’ll find this blog world twists and turns according to what happens to be catching your attention at the moment. If you can capture that in images or words, if becomes part of “this.” Enjoy!

      xoxo, Jen

  2. Jen, I don’t want to read the rest because you opening statement just ain’t true. You’ve been busy doing things on time for BLT for Lord knows how many years. Happy New Year and have a satisfying 2013. Peter

  3. I love your image of Grover. One of my favorite books as a child was called, “The Monster at the End of This Book.” Grover spends the entire book afraid of reaching the end, but then finds out the unknown is part of the journey and nothing to be afraid of. Good stuff. :-)

Leave a Reply

