So Close I Almost Missed It [smile]

I was going to pull together a blog post today about the message the Universe was sending my way. Something that connected a meditation on our innate talent, making connections on my mid-day walk in the woods, and witnessing the red shouldered hawk in my back yard. But then I tripped on these…a happy accident?

11:00 a.m. Email from a Friend…
Have you tried laughter? That always intrigued me, from the time Norman Cousins wrote about curing his own sickness that way. Every so often…I remember about that and watch a really funny movie, or read a funny book. Even remembering to smile more often helps. What I figure is — it may not help, but it can’t hurt!

3:00 p.m. Email to a Friend…
I am always amazed at how one, really-loud guffaw moves joy so quickly through my body. As for smiling – have you read the book (or seen the movie) Eat Pray Love? Liz’s guru in Bali tells her to about the smiling meditation: “You make serious face like this, you scare away good energy. To meditate, only you must smile. Smile with face, smile with mind, and good energy will come to you and clean away dirty energy….You can calling the good energy with a smile.”

4:00 p.m. Email from the Daily Om
“When we laugh, we give ourselves over to the immediacy of the present moment and transcend stress.”

• • •

Photos ©2012, Jen Payne: statue at the Chuang Yen Monastery, Carmel, NY

6 thoughts on “So Close I Almost Missed It [smile]

  1. i like that phrase – “sneaky wise divine” – sounds like the title of something you would write… but yes, i believe smiling and/or laughing and feeling that happiness is key! what was that little man’s name, in Eat Pray Love? tuket? tekut? something like that…. his wisdom seemed so simple (as i’m sure all wisdom is, once we cut through the clutter!) thanks for the reminder (in other words, glad you got sidetracked!)

    1. “Sneaky Wise Divine” – hmmm…there has to be a way to use that again, right? Ketut Liyer is the guru, and it turns out there’s a real Ketut Liyer! (I guess that makes sense since it’s an autobiography.) There are some great YouTube videos of him. Now: smile. : )

Leave a Reply

