seize earth by the pole

The tree the tempest with a crash of wood
Throws down in front of us is not bar
Our passage to our journey’s end for good,
But just to ask us who we think we are…

— Robert Frost

How many times have you come upon a sudden obstacle that seems determined to stop you from moving forward?

Such was the case for me a few weeks ago. A tree fell in the middle of my path and asked: “Who do you think you are?”

At first, I resisted.

This is a good and familiar path. I want to stay here.

Surely I can move this tree and continue on my way.

But there was a louder voice that let me know I needed to heed this call for change. It was time to be on a different path, whether I liked it, or not. Whether I was ready for it, or not.

Rather than sit with the familiar hesitation of these course corrections, I embraced it: thanked the path, honored the message of the tree, and made change.

And so it was this morning that I found myself on a different path, surrounded by a new community, and breathing joy.

• • •

Photo ©2012, Jen Payne. Poem, On a Tree Fallen Across the Road, Robert Frost.

8 thoughts on “seize earth by the pole

  1. I honor you for choosing to hear the message and moving onto a new path. It took chronic pain, to land on my path like a boulder for me, and even the, I did everything I could, first, to try and get around that darn boulder. Blessings.

    1. I totally understand. This was actually a “boulder” I’d come up against before (a number of times) and never understood how or had the tools to get around it. But this time, this time I KNEW (felt it to my core) that I had to make change – and then I did. Thank you for understanding…

Leave a Reply

