Saving Turtles and Eating Frogs

On Sunday, I concerned myself with turtles. One turtle to be precise, of the snapping variety. I knew this because snapping turtles have a very distinct face, wonderfully prehistoric and extraterrestrial at the same time.

Mine was crossing the road while I made my way around the pond where I walk. So I scooped him up and placed him gently on the other side of the road. Before anyone gets too concerned, Sunday’s turtle was much smaller than the one shown above — no larger than a half dollar, fitting perfectly in the palm of my hand.

The walk that proceeded this tiny mission of mercy was no less fascinating as I spotted one fairy house, a collection of bright orange mushrooms that would have made Alice giggle, and a matching butterfly who flitted about in a meadow filled with late-summer flowers.

On Monday…sigh…I concerned myself with other things. Work things to be precise, of the overwhelming variety. I knew this because before I even got out of bed, the To-Do gremlins were tugging at the sheets and throwing my pillows on the floor.

Which is why I decided it was time to Eat That Frog!.

[ Click on the frog to watch an inspiring little movie from Simple Truths.]

• • •

©2012, Jen Payne

14 thoughts on “Saving Turtles and Eating Frogs

    1. Well, yeah, realistically there’s not much chance of me tackling everything at once :) . But that was a motivational video!

Leave a Reply

