Auspicious Sightings

Yesterday, as I was walking in the woods, I came upon a frog sitting in the middle of the trail. He humored me for a while, as I chatted about the pretty day and the cool of the shade we had the luck to be occupying.

It was only when I moved a little too close for comfort that he decided to be on his way, and me on mine. Besides, summer bugs are fond of inert bodies, and I knew it was best to be moving mine soon if the buzzing about my ears was any indication.

As I walked away, down the path, across the footbridge and into a small meadow of wildflowers, I thought about how favorable a sighting this was.

– – – – –

Frogs carry an ancient mythology about them. They are often associated with the magic of the elements, the gift of rain, and lunar energies. Frogs have been known to be heralds of abundance. The frog is a totem of metamorphosis, and always has connection to the creative force from which it came.

— Ted Andrews, Animal-Speak

– – – – –

To reinforce the idea of abundance and metamorphosis, a late-morning video from my sister showed some of my nephew’s very first steps. What could be more auspicious than that?

Click here to purchase a copy of Ted Andrews’ Animal-Speak.

Photo ©2012, Jen Payne

6 thoughts on “Auspicious Sightings

  1. It’s nice to hear about your jaunt while I sit here listening to thunder and the rain pounds on my roof. The lightning eliminates my living room while I sit in stormy darkness, blogging away. Nature. Ahhhhhh. Cool.
    Neat photo.

Leave a Reply

