The Great Cape Escape: No Plans Necessary

Thursday, 4:30 p.m.

After yoga and breakfast, I set about to planning the day ahead: should I go to the movies and which one? Should I travel up the coast to the National Seashore again or where? But all of that was interrupted by housekeeping, which seemed pleased that I gathered my things and left for a while.

And I only needed go around the corner to occupy my time: a souvenir shop for postcards and gifts, a post office, a used bookstore.

“I’ve been a reader all of my life,” the older woman at the front counter told the cashier. “Other kids wanted to go out and play, or go to town, but I just wanted to sit and read.”

I remember that feeling. I remember being THAT person. I still feel like that person when I am wandering bookstores – voraciously wanting to read everything in sight! This was the second message of my retreat: find your way to reading again.

I got a start with (more) new books: The Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell, Living, Loving & Learning by Leo Buscaglia, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, and Cleopatra, A Life by Stacy Schiff.

When I got back, I opted to stay put for the rest of the day, plugged into my iPod and wandered off to the beach for a long walk. Today’s playlist is a set from a dear friend of mine who reviews new music, including (click to listen):

A Little Like Heaven, Drew Copeland
Aftermath, Benjy Davis Project
Little Light, Rachel Platten
At Your Worst, Sister Hazel
Long Love Letter, Tony Lucca
As Long As I’m With You, Ingram Hill
Black Coffee, Ernie Halter
Sex And Reruns, Matt Duke
The Other Side, Ken Block

So, there’s no camera this time, just me and music and water up to my ankles. The ocean is oddly warm for this time of year and a pleasure in which to wade.

A decadent mid-day nap preceded a late lunch at the restaurant next door. The platter of fresh fried oysters and French fries and cole slaw were divine, but the stuffed quahog, served with lemon and drawn butter was one of the best things I have ever eaten. No kidding.

Clouds rolled in after lunch and the breeze turned much cooler. A blanket over my legs and pillows propped up in bed make for a perfect spot to rest, read, write, and enjoy the sound of waves crashing against the shore outside.

• • •

©2012, Jen Payne

6 thoughts on “The Great Cape Escape: No Plans Necessary

Leave a Reply

