Rotisserie Chicken and the Single Person

Chicken

There we were. Three single persons of a certain age on a Friday night in line at the grocery store. How do I know we were all single? Each of us had carefully placed our $5.99 rotisserie chicken on the conveyor belt along with our accoutrements of choice.

My dinner was an all-natural rotisserie chicken, (soon to be) roasted asparagus, mixed greens, and an organic chocolate bar with candied ginger for dessert.

The gentleman behind me was having herb-roasted rotisserie chicken, a Salad Bar tossed salad with ranch dressing, and some strawberry Greek yogurt for his dessert.

The woman behind him had also selected the herb-roasted chicken, and unabashedly chose to enjoy hers with a corn muffin from the bakery and a pint of Häagen-Dazs chocolate ice cream.

In the end, I was the only one who ducked into the neighboring package store for a bottle of Merlot, but I am sure a good time was had by all!

• • •

Image: Mizzi Hajos in dancing costume from the George Grantham Bain Collection, Library of Congress, 1914.

8 thoughts on “Rotisserie Chicken and the Single Person

  1. this reminded me of years and years and years ago when I was a grocery checker, and how I would make up stories in my mind about the people coming through the lines, based on what was in their baskets.

Leave a Reply

