Wanna Play?

Do you remember playing? Recess and running around: Red Light, Green Light and Mother May I, and Red Rover Red Rover?

I don’t know what I’m playing in the picture above…it sort of looks like a yoga pose to me. But I assure you, when I was that age? I didn’t have to take a class or be reminded to breathe and stretch and move. It’s all I did!

Play was all anyone did at that age, right? Besides eat and sleep, and read. But back then, even reading was playing!

I’ve been thinking about PLAYING all morning — ever since friend and fellow blogger C.B. Wentworth invited Random Acts of Writing [+art] to play a little game of Tag!

As part of the game, there are 11 questions to be answered and 11 more to think up and pass on to willing participants.

I’m game, how about you? Wanna play?

ANSWERING QUESTIONS

1) What book have you always wanted to read, but still haven’t gotten around to it?
Lots! 350 at last count, I believe. But right now? The book I want to read and have not got around to is Loving-Kindness, The Revolutionary Art of Happiness by Sharon Salzberg. It’s sitting on my coffee table, and I keep opening it and reading pieces, but I MUST make time to read the whole thing. Soon!

2) What classic book do you feel is overrated? Why?
Goodness, I don’t know. It’s been a long time since I’ve read the classics. We had a love-hate relationship all through college and that was enough! I remember despising Walden back then — but on a reread last year, I fell madly in love with it. Perhaps our sense of “overrated” changes with our perceptions of life?

3) What is your favorite movie adaptation of a book? Least favorite?
In recent memory…I loved Eat Pray Love the movie, even though it couldn’t possibly include all of the pages I dog-eared in the book. It’s still a fun couple of hours, and who doesn’t love watching Julia Roberts?

I enjoyed The Time Traveler’s Wife much better in book form, though. The movie just couldn’t capture the wonderful nuances of the written words.

4) Where is your favorite place to write?
 At my desk, between 4 and 6 a.m. when it’s dark and quiet.

5) Pen or pencil?
 Keyboard. Otherwise, always a (blue) pen.

6) What was your favorite toy as a child?
 Winnie-the Pooh – pictured above.

7) What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?
Externally? Starting and running my own business.
Internally? Finding joy.

8) If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one ability or quality, what would it be?
 Other than having enough money to come and go as I please? To live life in the moment and not worry about things that are not in my control.

“There is a word in Buddhist psychology, tathata, that can be translated as “thusness” or “suchness.” It describes a state in which the totality of our being is present; our awareness is not fragmented or divided. In the state of suchness, some part of ourselves is not sitting elsewhere waiting for something better or different to happen. We are not relating to our experience with either desire or aversion, but rather we accept what comes into our lives and let go of what leaves our lives. We are completely present and not beguiled by the token happiness promised by conventional assumptions. In experiencing the freedom of suchness, we discover who we actually are.”

— Sharon Salzberg, Loving-Kindness, The Revolutionary Art of Happiness

9) What are five songs you hate to admit you love?
 All five are from my iPod “At the Gym” playlist…

1. Get Busy, Sean Paul
2. I Know You Want Me, Pitbull
3. Fire Burning, Sean Kingston
4. Lose Yourself, Eminem
5. We Speak No Americano, Yolanda Be Cool

10) Where is your dream destination, (or place you’ve always wanted to go)?
 France. Again. Although I am also gearing up for the 50th Birthday Cross-Country Road Trip, which I am psyched about!

11) What are the top five things on your bucket list?
 I don’t really have a bucket list, though I often toy with the idea of starting one. If pressed, I would say:

1. Get published
2. Drive cross-country
3. See the Grand Canyon
4. See the Northern Lights
5. Go back to France

– – – – –

ASKING QUESTIONS
 As part of the game, we’re supposed to ask 11 new questions. So here goes…

1. What was your favorite pastime when you were young?

2. What do you do for play now?

3. What is your favorite book of all time?

4. What’s the best movie you’ve watched lately and why?

5. If you could make one change to your life, right now, and have it stick, what would it be?

6. What is your most memorable meal?

7. What do you miss most about being a kid?

8. If you could go back in time and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

9. You find a $50 bill but you have to spend it right now—what do you buy?

10. What are you doing today?

11. What are you most grateful for, right now?

– – – – –

TAG! YOU’RE IT!
Everyone is invited to play along! With invitations extended – as per game rules – to the bloggers listed below. If you decide to play along, please include a link to your blog in the comments of this post.

(C.B. will you play again?)

The Daily Woman

de quelle planete es-tu?

My Inner Mystic

The Magnificent Something

Promenade Plantings

Seven Sisters Arts

Touch 2 Touch

8 thoughts on “Wanna Play?

  1. I love your answers, especially to #2. When I was younger, I never understood the fuss about Charles Dickens and to some degree I still struggle with him. However, when I was 25 I finally sat down and read “A Tale of Two Cities” and wonderstruck by such a phenomenal piece of work. Wow. Perhaps its just a question of time and reaching certain points in my life before I can fully appreciate his novels. (Oh, and last year I read A Christmas Carol cover to cover. WOW.)

    For you, I’ll gladly play again. I’ll post a link as soon as its done. :-)

    1. Funny. I was thinking about Dickens today – and almost listed A Christmas Carol with overrated classics…but it sort of fell into that same category of appreciation. While I might not have enjoyed it much when I was younger, its message (and its language) is much more valuable now!

      Thanks for the chance to play today!

Leave a Reply

