A Prayer for Imbolc

Brighid at Imbolc

My dear friend Tara reminded me this morning that today is the seasonal celebration of Imbolc — marking the halfway point between the Winter Solstice and the Spring Equinox. Imbolc is a time to rejoice in the return of light and the possibilities of the new season, said to be heralded by the goddess Brighid.

With no apology, I confess that I find myself desperately craving a winter that never fully materialized. While pleasant, these moderate temperatures and lack of precipitation have failed to offer up the excuse to stay indoors, to slow our pace, to hibernate and germinate and contemplate.

Perhaps this prayer to Brighid, then, carries even more importance this year:

“Great Brigit, I know that you hear me the moment that I think of you. I ask for your presence and assistance. Please lend me your courage and power that I may rise to the level of my highest capabilities. Please warm my heart and mind with your brightness, and burn away any thoughts, feelings, or behaviours that stand in the way of my Divine potential. Help me to have the courage to be my very best, and to lose all fear of being powerful.”

— Doreen Virtue, Archangels and Ascended Masters

• • •

Mixed-media collage, Blessings of Brighid at Imbolc, ©2011, Jen Payne.

8 thoughts on “A Prayer for Imbolc

  1. What a beautiful image and thought. Winter never really appeared for me, either and I truly missed it. There’s something about cold weather that renews the soul. Perhaps it is the slowing down – the hibernation – that lets us rest and be ready wake up again in the spring. :-)

  2. a very lovely invocation to Brighid/Brigit/Bride and one of my favorite pieces of your gorgeous artwork – thanks for posting them!

    as for winter: I grew up in the South where, with a few exceptions, this is the norm, so it’s no hardship for me… last winter up here was so rough (businesses lost so much money and no one went anywhere for days!) I foolishly thought people would be, well, a little grateful for gentler weather, but all I’ve heard is people grousing: “If it isn’t freezing and there’s no snow, then it’s not winter!” – i do feel bad for the poor plants thinking it’s spring and for people who love the snow, but I don’t miss shivering and shoveling and scraping and slipping in the parking lot – but that’s just me! Merry Imbolc! Blessed Candlemas! Happy Groundhog’s Day!

    1. Well, yes, and then there’s that about winter. But last winter was as rare as this one – polar opposites as they are. Somewhere right in the middle makes for a perfect marinating season…that’s what I miss.

  3. because i have lived in both climates, i can adapt to either extreme – for me, all it takes is a spell of colder weather to flip the switch – i can aesthetically appreciate winter’s respite, but not for too long a time – this “winter” can’t be over too soon for me! i don’t like seeing bare trees and i worry about wildlife seeking shelter and food, so i will tolerate this time of year for now and look forward to joyous spring coming early – i hope the groundhog doesn’t see his shadow today! i say, let’s just get on with it then! :D

Leave a Reply

