A Short Excursion

Fresh beauty opens one’s eyes wherever it is really seen, but the very abundance and completeness of the common beauty that besets our steps prevents its being absorbed and appreciated. It is a good thing, therefore, to make short excursions now and then to the bottom of the sea among dulse and coral, or up among the clouds on mountain-tops, or in balloons, or even to creep like worms into dark holes and caverns underground, not only to learn something of what is going on in those out-of-the-way places, but to see better what the sun sees on our return to common every-day beauty.

– John Muir

• • •

Photos ©2011, Jen Payne

26 thoughts on “A Short Excursion

  1. thanks for capturing all that common everyday beauty – it’s nice to be reminded how lucky we all really are, no matter what little nit-picky things are going on in our lives!

  2. Wonderful! I was moved by both the great photos and the well written words. We all should take a moment to step away from our day-to-day rat race, so we stop taking the natural beauty that surrounds us for granted. Thank you for this gentle reminder of the beautiful world we all live in!

    Tara

    1. Random Acts of Writing,
      I have no visual memory. I have lost my ability to remember scenery or a photo-any images, so you sharing something as beautiful as these is a true treat. In my mind, I have never seen images such as these before in real life or in pictures. I truly mean it when I said: thanks for reminding me what a beautiful world we live in.

    2. I spent some time on your blog after reading this comment and…wow! You are a remarkable woman! If these photos brought you a remembering of the beauty of this world, then I am honored to have shared them with you!

    1. It always takes a while for me to walk-off the day…you know, lose the clutter and chatter and just BE there? And then there is always a moment when I look around and see or hear or feel this place I am in and I whisper “thank you.” Always.

  3. Glorious photos. Your blog always demonstrates your love of beauty, Jen —

    John Muir is so strenuous —

    Perhaps it’s because I’m timid and cautious —
    but everyday beauty has always been really really precious for me!
    Not for me the view from the top of the mountain, or the descent into the chasm. Wildflowers, and wind-ruffled leaves, and clouds, yes.

    1. What an interesting observation – strenuous. I suspect, sometimes, it is what we need though. Something that shakes the senses out of the everyday mundane? How many times do we walk by the flower that grows in our own garden without SEEING it? But YOU, my friend, are quite good as seeing that beauty in every day. It’s obvious in your own wonderful photos!

Leave a Reply

