*I’d Rather Be a Forest than a Street

I’d rather be a forest
than a street

Yes I would

If I could,
I surely would



I’d rather feel the earth
beneath my feet,

Yes I would.

If I only could,
I surely would.

– Paul Simon

• • •

After a chance encounter with the PBS broadcast of Simon and Garfunkel: Songs of America, they’re all I’ve been listening to the past bunch of days. Can’t seem to get this particular song out of my head!

El Condor Pasa, lyrics by Paul Simon, based on a song by the Peruvian composer Daniel Alomía Robles written in 1913.

Photo ©2011 by Jen Payne

6 thoughts on “*I’d Rather Be a Forest than a Street

  1. one of their many great compositions – in fact, i played that album (vinyl, it was, too) to pieces back in the day! it’s on the same album with Cecilia (‘you’re breakin’ my heart…) and Bridge Over Troubled Water

    AND (if i remember correctly) i think the album cover shows the two of them looking straight at the camera and in the background there are lots of green trees!! now i’ll have to look it up – ahhh, serendipity…

    thanks for the lovely lyrics and memories!

    1. Time it was, and what a time it was, it was
      A time of innocence, a time of confidences
      Long ago, it must be, I have a photograph
      Preserve your memories; they’re all that’s left you

  2. yes – well, no wonder i played this album over and over – it’s Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits featuring:

    All songs by Paul Simon unless otherwise noted.
    Side one

    1. “Mrs. Robinson” – 3:51
    2. “For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her” (live) – 2:25
    3. “The Boxer” – 5:08
    4. “The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)” (live) – 1:50
    5. “The Sounds of Silence” – 3:07
    6. “I Am a Rock” – 2:52
    7. “Scarborough Fair/Canticle” (Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel) – 3:09

    Side two

    1. “Homeward Bound” (live) – 2:42
    2. “Bridge over Troubled Water” – 4:51
    3. “America” – 3:33
    4. “Kathy’s Song” (live) – 3:22
    5. “El Condor Pasa (If I Could)” (Paul Simon, Jorge Milchberg, Daniel A. Robles) – 3:07
    6. “Bookends” – 1:19
    7. “Cecilia” – 2:53

    fantastic – besides loving every single song, i especially loved America and Bookends and Homeward Bound – and, well, The Boxer… and I Am A Rock… and Scarborough Fair… but El Condor Pasa is so liltingly lovely!! oh – and the cover does show the two of them and you can see greenery behind them!

Leave a Reply

