Dear Sun…

Dear Sun,

Remember me? We used to walk in the woods together and drive along with the window rolled down.

Now, you know I’m the last person to complain about a rainy day. Rainy days make for good writing. But, it’s been about nine days since you’ve hung out with me for any good amount of time, and I miss you.

The weather report said you weren’t coming back for “a week or so.” Was it something I said? I hope not. We need you as much we need this rain.

And really, I’m not complaining. It could be worse. It could be much worse, I know.

But come back soon, OK?

Until then, I’ll be at that spot you love—you know, down by the water where you play with Breeze?

Love, Jen

• • •

Photo ©2011 by Jen Payne

12 thoughts on “Dear Sun…

  1. or is it “hear, hear” ?

    either way, i’ll take some some sun, please, with a rain chaser… ’cause then i’ll get rainbows!!!!

Leave a Reply

