So, what if today is Judgment Day?

Several years ago, I celebrated Yom Kippur—the Jewish holy Day of Atonement. I took the day off, fasted, meditated, and honored it as a traditional Sabbath, or day of rest. I was not raised in nor do I practice the Jewish faith, but at the time, I was needing a way to sit with and make amends for a grave error in judgment. Yom Kippur presented itself to me as an opportunity.

I was thinking about that experience this week, as the clamor of the propaganda that is “Judgment Day” got louder and louder. For those of you who do not know, misguided Christian radio broadcaster Harold Camping has predicted that today, May 21, is the Day of Judgment foretold in the Bible.

How can you ignore that? If not as a another fear-generating attempt to keep us all under control and addicted to the media, then as an opportunity to consider:

What if there really is a Judgment Day and what if today is it?

What would you do?
Would you say to hell with it and be worse?
Would you make changes and be better?

Mr. Camping uses numerology in his Biblical predictions—a divination tool that looks to numbers for prophecy and future-telling. Interestingly enough, Judgment also appears in the divination tool of Tarot cards.

The Judgment card, pictured above from the Rider-Waite-Smith deck, is a Major Arcana card. In readings, the Major Arcana relate to matters of a higher purpose or the “big picture.”

According to Aeclectic Tarot, the Judgment card “asks us to resurrect the past, forgive it, and let it go.” That past may include old wounds, past sins, or bad habits we can’t lose, and this card tells us it’s time to move on. Often, the message of this card is that we “need to forgive or be forgiven, do something [we’ve] been putting off, or have the courage to finally end something that isn’t good for [us].”

The Judgment card, by no surprise, is also a card of healing, and foretells significant change, “one that involves leaving something old…behind and stepping into something completely new.”

Unlike Mr. Camping’s predictions, this Judgment is not about doom and gloom and death, “this is about deciding to make a change, to stop doing something that isn’t working and do something that will work.”

“Which means that it’s really a card about courage, and about recognizing that you’re holding onto something that needs to be let go.”

So, what if today is Judgment Day?
What if this is your opportunity to make a change?
What would you do?

• • •

RELATED LINKS:

Aeclectic Tarot
• More about Yom Kippur
Rider-Waite-Smith Tarot

10 thoughts on “So, what if today is Judgment Day?

  1. Sometimes I don’t remember what I might have done that needs forgiving. In fact it might be more than sometimes. (Just ask my family.) Then, when I do remember, it seems they remember the event differently. Or, someone may have just decided to cut me out of their lives, and I have no idea why, and there is no opportunity to make amends. It’s a spiritual conundrum that I have had to just leave behind me.

    As for what I would do because of judgment day? I would forgive myself. I have already forgiven others. Except for the one who was responsible for the death of another. I find I am too weak to let go of it.

    1. I think, sometimes, forgiving ourselves is hardest of all. It always feels like forgiving others – if not something I can “make so” – happens on its own within its own time and if there is truth. But time and truth don’t seem to matter when it’s something I cannot reconcile within myself. Does that make sense?

  2. Great thoughts….I like your approach to this day and believe that the opportunity presents itself to us every moment of every day! Peace….

    1. Quite true! The newsletter companion to this blog included this quote from Camus: “Don’t wait for the last judgment–it takes place every day.” So, you are right on point there!

  3. Very interesting readings my cuz! Unlike some I did not for a moment believe that Judgement Day would be today. The Bible is really clear that no man will no the day or time that the Lord will appear. We as Christians should know better than to profess the returning of our Lord on a certain day and time. I however don’t view Judgement Day as a day of fear but rather a day of excitement knowing that I will meet my Lord and Savior on that day. I have total faith that the God I have served most of my adult life will return as stated in the Bible but for me it will be a time of rejoicing!

    1. Right, I don’t think anyone can know when the end will come, whatever that end may be: Judgment Day, Kali Yuga, Ragnarok, a cataclysmic expansion of the universe. There are many things we cannot know.

      But, in the process of coming to terms with our own mortalities and the eventual fate of the miracle that is this planet, there are opportunities for us to stop and reflect: how can I be a better person? how can I live this life more fully? how can I serve the people around me? how can I honor the gift of this life?

      That you have such peace and resolution is admirable; I suspect I will gladly continue to question until the day I die.

  4. well, i am just going to relax (tv is off for a change!) and have a glass (or three) of very nice champagne (with a splash of elderflower liqueur for good measure – yum) and think about people i care about and how to make the world a better place (gee, i sound like a contestant in the miss america pageant!)

    very thought- provoking and great parallel to the tarot (note to doom & gloomers like harold camping: leave numerology to the numerologists and stick to what you know) things will get better or worse and we just have to do the best we can in whatever circumstances we find ourselves in…

    to quote james allen in his book “as a man thinketh” – “circumstances do not make the man – they reveal him to himself” – thanks for another great blog, jen! TJBG

    1. Exactly. If it had been Judgement Day, would I have been content with my reflection as revealed the mirror? And if not, how do I adjust that? What can I do to change that?

  5. Hey, Jen…

    I was thinking about that “prediction” yesterday more than I might usually have, since I spent most of the day in airplanes, an activity during which I’m always particularly aware that my Fate is not entirely in my own hands. (I’m always grateful to be reminded of that fact, BTW!)

    In regard to the comments about making amends and holding on to things that would better be released, I want to share a great maxim from a twelve-step group of which I am a member:
    “Holding on to resentment is like taking poison in the hopes that someone else will die.”

    It is always possible to make an amend, even if the person you feel you may have wronged is no longer available to receive it directly. The “amend” is the heartfelt change we make in our own behavior – that, in itself, is sufficient to the Universe, especially when no other action is possible.

    Besides, we are always the one who benefits the most from any amend we make!

    XO,
    C

    1. yes, Yes, YES! I think what you say is true – when it comes to making amends AND to making any kind of change. THE HEARTFELT CHANGE WE MAKE IN OUR OWN BEHAVIOR. It’s not about what’s out there, what happens or happened. It’s what’s happening in HERE (heart) that makes the change for a better THERE (world).

      XOXO

Leave a Reply

